Thread: Conn Rhapsody 627 repair, cleaning, and sound questions

Conn Rhapsody 627 repair, cleaning, and sound questions

Hi, I just got a1966 Conn Rhapsody 627 organwhich I am really enjoying though I am a total organ newbie. I have a couple of questions though since I'm new to the organ world. </P>

1. The organ has a high pitchedtibia tone (C#) that keeps playing no matter what. I can quiet it to some degree by not pressingthe Sustain Tibia Long tabor tibia tabs and/or quieting tibia tones. I found thespecific tone generatorthat is used for this noteand I opened the back and took a look at it, it's got some brown tar looking crud on it but a few othertone generators havethat crud and they aren't always playing. Does anyone have suggestions on how to fix the constant C# tone.</P>

2. I'mnew to organ repair but I have the service manual, am somewhat handy,and want to give it a go - I wassurprisedto find out that you could get a shock even if the organ is not plugged in (thanks google). Does anyone have suggestions on which parts to stay away from to avoid shocks . Other than that, if I just go in with one hand,will I avoid a shock?
    </P>

3. So the innards have some dust, but it is not terrible. What should I do to clean the thing out. Should I clean off the tubes or is it just going to cause more problems with finger oil, damage, etc?Some things I've seen are compressed air or a dry paint brush to clean off the dust. Ibought crc 2-26, should I use that tocleancontacts (some posts say yes, some say no..... and no I'm not even sure where the contacts are right now)</P>

4. Can anyone recommend a setting for the conn rhapsody organ to approximate a hammond sound or a 60s rock vibe. Please no bashing, I know it's nota hammond, but I'm abig Dylan fan and would like to getsomething blonde on blonde-ish or even a radiohead fake plastic tree's sound on my sweet conn. </P>

Thanks foryourhelp. </P>
    <P mce_keep="true"></P>