X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Organ Lessons

Hi ,
    I am new to thie forum so I hope I am posting in the right place !! Can anyone help me please ? I am looking for someone in the Bedfordshire area who teaches the modern electronic organ. I am about to purchase a Roland Atelier AT 80 ( I think this is the best choice as to what I have seen so far ?) and I am looking for lessons. I have tried google and yell .com but cant find anyone. My nearest organ shop/ dealer is 40 miles away but they do not teach anymore. I have found many keyboard/ piano teachers but I guess the organ is different because of the Bass pedals. Can anyone help me please ?
    Thank you

Just me

Maybe check with the local churches that have organs. Maybe one of the organists likes to teach, or at least needs the money from teaching.
    When I become dictator, those who preach intolerance will not be tolerated.

Comment

I hope you have better luck than me. I have been searching now for six months and have found only one person willing to teach. He was 80 miles away, did NOT have an organ to teach with and wanted to charge $45.00 an hour if I could find an organ to use in his area. Needless to say, I'm trying to teach myself from books and what little is available on the internet. It's tough out there. No wonder churches are dumping their organs. My own church has a really nice pipe organ and one elderly organist who doesn't want to teach. She does a passable job, when she's there and willing to play. This week we were stuck with a piano, a poor excuse for a piano player and the organist sitting in the congregation. No one else seems interested in the organ and, I'll probably be dead before I ever learn enough to play it. Besides, she'll probably have to be dead before anyone else is allowed to touch it.
      "The employment of the piano is forbidden in church, as is also that of noisy frivolous instruments such as drums, cymbals, bells and the like." St. Pius X

Comment