This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just to say Hi

Been lurking on the forum for a while now. Thought it about time I joined. Just a bit of background. I am a novice organist who will not see 65 again. Started piano lessons a couple of years ago and then dropped out again for a while. I continued to practice at home and on our church's piano. One morning the church's piano had a sticky key. Not wanting to mess with it I let the powers that be know, but decided to switch on the old Baldwin organ that none of our regular musicians ever want to play. It sat there just gathering dust. It is an old organ probably at least thirty years or more old but I was hooked. I have always loved the music of the baroque period and have collected a stack of organ LPs and CDs over the years.

I decided to seek out an organ teacher and found a guy in town who is music director for his church. He has proved to be an excellent teacher and I look forward to my lesson each week on a Schantz two manual pipe organ at his church. I love that organ.

I am currently looking for a good used electronic organ for home practice preferably an Allen (No offense meant to those of a Rodgers persuasion.) I just like the sounds of the Allens I have listened to so far. Our church is half an hours drive each way that is an hour I could be practicing in stead of driving.

Chose the login name Dogstar, not because I am any kind of star but maybe my Beagle thinks so.

Look forward to posting more in the days ahead most likely in this forum.

Dave
    Allen ADC 1000
    Large Beagle

Ooops! First goof. Posted in the wrong forum. Sorry about that. Thanks for moving the post, admin'.

Will try not to re-offend.
    Allen ADC 1000
    Large Beagle

Comment

Dave,

Welcome to the Forum! I hope you find your time here more rewarding than work.