X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• music

Pax!
    A lot of music nowadays are really strange. I would say that black metal is really too much for me although some death metal is ok. Some people even call it satanic music but I'm no expert. I would also have to say that what you hear on the radio is mostly poo

Well, I've never heard a Biblical scholar talk much about music, but St. Augustine talks a lot about literature (near the beginning of "Confessions" for instance). He vented for a good couple of pages about how the "Aeneid" is a bad piece of literature, even though he was deeply enamored of it in his youth, because he felt so much sadness for Dido who killed herself once deprived of her love, while feeling no sadness for the fact that he himself was deprived of the relationship he needed with God. "Confessions" is a really good (overly moralizing, perhaps) read, by the way, if you have a few hours to spare.
    This comparison might only work for church music, but I am a church musician so it's good enough for now. In my opinion, highly emotional music is only suitable for the church if the emotions are directed towards God. I would hesitate to program a Chopin Ballade for a church event, for instance, yet I'd be perfectly fine with programming Bach's St. Matthew's Passion, which is an even more emotional work at times. The emotion is not bad in and of itself, but it really depends on where the emotion is directed. Conservatism is always safe, but being passionate involves a fine line to worry about.