This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• was E. Power Biggs good?

Hi, I'm new to this forum. I'm a longtime classical guitarist and huge E. Power Biggs fan. I was wondering if in the organ community Mr. Biggs was well-respected. Is he pretty much the best organist for the Bach fugues?

thanks in advance,
    Stephen Odom

Re: was E. Power Biggs good?

I don't think anyone can deny Biggs' influence on the organ world nor do I believe that his interpretation of Bach was anything less than exemplary. Although he is often credited ( or blamed) for the neo-baroque craze in organ building, and is known for his interpretation of the music of that period, he was equally at home with the French masters.

Besides, can you think of a better name for an organist than E. Power Biggs?

Now a question for you. Who is your favorite classical guitarist?

Comment

Charlie Minor had a better name. His real name was C Sharpe (from his mother) Minor. No kidding.

Comment

Yeah, that IS the best name for an organist. I remember when I picked up one of his CD's and showed all my friends his name because I liked it so much.

The reason I ask about Mr. Biggs is because my favorite guitarist is Christopher Parkening. I'm a bit of an oddball in the guitar community because although Parkening has had great pop success, some other guitarists think he's overrated (I just can't understand that. The guy is incredible and the best ever!). I thought that an organist whose name was "E. Power Biggs" and had his album in a store in the mall might be a little gimmicky; the organ community might think he's a sellout or something. I'm glad that that's not the case.