This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bad Playing Habits - Confession time!

I think I can safely say that we all have bad playing habits, I'm sure even the pros on the concert circuit must do things occasionally that are traditionally frowned upon.</P>

My bad habit stems from being self taught...and that is bottom octave pedalling. I can actually use the pedals "properly"and to a high level,but from time to time, especially with hymns I find myself slipping back into bottom octave pedalling.</P>

I've had my organ teacher try and "drive" it out of me by taking apart my complete pedal technique but alas it seems unwilling to go...bad habits die hard etc. Any other part-time "bottom octave pedalists" here?</P>

I've told you mine, now tell me yours! [] Don't be shy, we're all humans - well some of us anyway...</P>

PS. Any tips regarding our respective bad habits are welcome on this thread, collectively we can try and help each other play that just bit better!</P>
    1971 Allen Organ TC-3S (#42904) w/sequential capture system.
    Speakers: x1 Model 100 Gyro, x1 Model 105 & x3 Model 108.

Re: Bad Playing Habits - Confession time!

I can identify with you there. I learned to play a spinet organ in high school, with, of course, onlythirteen pedals, and using only the left leg.When I started playing professionally in churches, just about all of them had organs with thirty pedals. It was a long time before I felt comfortable even using the middle range of the pedalboard, much less the top notes to the right. Frankly, what got me really used to using all of the pedalboard was a serious working through the eight little preludes and fugues of Bach (I know that there are arguments over who actually wrote them!). Just playing through the pedal parts of any Bach organ piece will help with the tendency to play left foot only. You can't do it in Bach!</P>