Getting to church and finding the organ has a problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting to church and finding the organ has a problem

This morning I was on the "other end" of it. As an organ tech, I've received many a call on Sunday afternoon, sometimes even on Sunday morning, as somebody's organ has a problem when they turn it on for the service. This morning I was that person...

Turned on the Allen at church and noticed right away that the expression bar graph for the great was not moving. Yep, sure enough, no expression on the great, just full on all the time. Fortunately, the swell still had expression as usual. I'm guessing the expression lamp has burned out in the great shoe, but I won't have time to check it out until later in the week.

So how do YOU handle it when you get to church and discover a serious problem with the organ? Panic? Move to the piano? Leave out something you were planning to play? Or just carry on and trust that no one else will notice?

At first I was thinking, well this won't bother me much. I play most of the time, especially on the hymns, with the expression wide open anyway. And I can always regulate the volume by hand registration. But of course it's not that simple, and there were some hair-raising moments.

For one thing, I had to accompany our resident flutist, who is an accomplished professional player, for a special piece, and my intent had been to do some artistic expressive work. Yes, the swell stops were still expressible, but I'm not accustomed to having to depend on that division alone. Besides, in my church the swell speakers are across the chancel from the console and I've come to depend more on the great division, which speaks from all around me on the bench. So I was a little nervous, and it showed in my playing. She was kind enough not to comment, but it must have disturbed her when I fluffed more than one note at critical points in the piece.