Church organists - What day do you get your 'set list?'

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Church organists - What day do you get your 'set list?'

Here it is, Monday. If you play at a church, what day do you get a 'set list' (probably not the right term but my background is rock n' roll) of hymns and any other music you will be playing this coming Sunday?

I know I will get different answers but as an aspiring church organist I'd like to get a feel for how many days I might have to practice.

Thanks,
    Christopher
    Hammond RT-3, Estey circa 1903, Baldwin Acrosonic spinet piano, Fender Rhodes Mark I 73 stage piano.

I'm told our rector has planned the hymns for the entire year ahead. I gather that is somewhat unusual, he's a bit of a control freak. The preludes, anthems, and postludes the organist chooses in conformance with the liturgical calendar and confirms with the rector, so however far in advance he likes.

Comment

When I was church organist,decades ago, none of the churches I played at provided me with hymn list in advance, even though I requested it. I found out the hymns to be played when the congregation did by looking at the numbers on the hymn board.

Sight reading on any level has never been a strong point, so I experienced a little angst every Sunday morning, but was able to handle what came my way. Still, having the hymns in advance would have provided an opportunity to prepare a more varied accompaniment than was what was written the hymn book.
      Last edited by Admin; 01-13-2020, 10:32 AM.
      -Admin

Allen 965
      Zuma Group Midi Keyboard Encoder
      Zuma Group DM Midi Stop Controller
      Hauptwerk 4.2

Comment

Originally posted by ChristopherDB113 View Post
        Here it is, Monday. If you play at a church, what day do you get a 'set list' (probably not the right term but my background is rock n' roll) of hymns and any other music you will be playing this coming Sunday?