X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lowrey cntempo 80?

Hey guys,</p>

I'm new to the forum and to organs. I would like to learn to play organ. I found a lowrey contempo 80 that I could get for free. I have done some research and it seems pretty good. Is this a gem? What is the tone like? I'm hoping it will have some tone and not a cheesy organ sound. </p>

</p>

Do you guys have nay expierence with these? Also are there any audio clips of videos of these getting played? Do you guys think I should get it?</p>

</p>

Thanks,</p>

matt
    </p>

Re: Lowrey cntempo 80?

I've no experience to contribute but one cannot but note that the price is right. If it's functional I see no downside in acquiring it. As to whether or not it would be a suitable instrument on which to take serious lessons, I will defer to others here more knowledgeable than I.</P>

David</P>

Comment

I only have a little experience working with early Lowrey's but a free organ is a very nice place to start if you are a learner. The more you learn the more you'll discover what "you" really like (we are all different as you will see as you follow forum discussions forawhile). The type of music you like is also an important part of your decision to acquire the organ. And your ability to move the organ home is another consideration. If you don't have a truck, or friend with a truck, free gets expensive really fast. I have spent as much as $250 to move a free organ less than 10 miles. Ah, those were the days when I had enough money. There is a Lowrey forum you can join on Yahoo groups that you will find very helpful in your decision. Best wishes for learning the organ. It is a wonderful and relaxing past time.

Comment

Hi Matt</p>