This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Searching for an Organ

I am an avid pianist but am searching for a suitable organ. Having been piano shopping multiple times, I thought finding an organ would be easy. Organ shopping has turned out to be much more frustrating than looking for a piano. I have been to about every shop where I live and have received responses ranging from "what the heck do you want an organ for?" to very helpful salesmen. My problem is that there are not many organs locally and I do not care for the models they do have. Many of the used organs have very poor crackling sound and the new organs seem to have all sorts of bells and whistles I don't need while not having what I do need (full pedalboard and multiple manuals). Does anybody have advice?</P>

I am mainly interested in baroque music.</P>

Re: Searching for an Organ

[quote user="naking"] . . . what I do need (full pedalboard and multiple manuals). Does anybody have advice?

I am mainly interested in baroque music.[/quote]</P>

May I assume you're interested in a church or classical style organ, rather than theatre style or Hammond?</P>

Assuming that, you may wish to check out eBay and CraigsList. On eBay, your search terms could be: Allen Organ, Rodgers Organ, Pipe Organ, Church Organ, etc. On CraigsList, the method of searching is a bit more complicated, but I have started a threadwith organs available on CraigsList. (http://organforum.com/forums/3/90051/ShowThread.aspx)</P>

It would help to know in which geographical region of the country you reside. From your profile, I see that you're in the Central Time Zone. That would put you in close proximity to severalmembers of this Forum who could help you find a used organ.</P>

Hope this helps.</P>

Michael</P>
    Way too many organs to list, but I do have 5 Allens:
    • MOS-2 Model 505-B / ADC-4300-DK / ADC-5400 / ADC-6000 (Symphony) / ADC-8000DKC
    • Lowrey Heritage (DSO-1)