This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rodgers 850 speaker placement

So last night I spent a great deal of time hooking up some, not all, of the speaker cabinets to my new acquisition. I elected to just go with the 4 channels (2- swell, 2- great) I have to put the subwoofer back together (took 15' drivers out to lower cabinet 12 feet down to floor when uninstalling unit from church) before I hook it all back up but sure thats a no brainer.....to be hooked up to the pedal channel:->. Anyway, I'm very new at this classical/church electronic organ equipment and especially multi channel hook ups and feeds. The physical wiring part I get but trying to figure out "placement". All four amps that I hooked up to four of the speakers worked as well as the speakers themselves. I was very impressed with all those open backed 6x9's....they sound pretty good for being 35 plus years old. Each of the 4 cabinets I hooked up also has a JBL bullet tweeter hooked to them and found that I needed to attenuate the tweeters down almost all the way.......very effecient on the high end. My question, or pull for suggestions, is this; I have 4 more cabinets identical to the ones I've already hooked up except without the bullet tweeter(s). Does one or two channel(s) of the four benefit from adding more cabinets then the other(s)? Or do I just hook up 2 cabs per channel, per amp? The Horns seem to come from a distinct cabinet and the flutes from another whereas some of the other stops "share" both (depending if I'm playing solely on the great or swell manual) The Flutes (or their equivalent name) seem to be weaker in sound whereas the trumpets, etc seem very in your face. I just downloaded the manual so I'll be checking that tonight but thought I'd run this across the forum. Any suggestions would be helpful and appreciated!

Hi,

Just a few comments regarding your setup.