X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sticking notes on Allen

Hi All,

After transporting my Allen Renaissance organ to my new home, it has developed a problem with notes sustaining or "sticking" randomly on any of the manuals. It does not occur every time I play it, but quite frequently. I have read other threads that talk about this in regards to "cards" on an ADC model that need to be reseated in the back of the organ. Does that apply at all to the Renaissance line? I am convinced that some component in the organ has jiggled loose during the move. I have carefully removed and reseated all the cable connectors inside the organ, but that did not help. I also reinitialized the organ and that seemed to help for awhile, but then the note sticking started again. Any suggestions?

I see you have no answers, and I'm no professional, so I'll take a stab at it. Did you check to see if somehow a keyboard was raised slightly (or even the reed switch rail)? Also, is it isolated to only one manual, or all manuals--not sure how many you have.

I had a problem with the pedals on one of my organs, and it was because I lost a caster in the move. Once I lifted that corner of the organ, everything worked fine. The same thing happened once when I replaced a reed switch on one of the keyboards.

Random thoughts, but might get you to thinking?

Michael
    Way too many organs to list, but I do have 5 Allens:
    • MOS-2 Model 505-B / ADC-4300-DK / ADC-5400 / ADC-6000 (Symphony) / ADC-8000DKC
    • Lowrey Heritage (DSO-1)
    • 11 Pump Organs, 1 Pipe Organ & 7 Pianos

Comment

Re: Sticking Notes on Allen

Thanks, Michael, for your suggestion. No, I don't think there is a keyboard issue because I have 3 manuals and it happens randomly on all 3. It doesn't appear to happen in the pedal. Usually if a note starts sustaining in one manual, then hitting notes on other manuals join in and sustain also. It seems to be a software issue and not anything physical.