Forum Top Banner Ad

Collapse

Ebay Classic organs

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When does an organist start needing three manuals?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When does an organist start needing three manuals?

I shared in another thread that a three-manual Rodgers organ may soon be coming up for sale and I'm first in line if it comes to that.

The truth is that I already have a perfectly good two-manual organ right now ... but I'm still a beginner in the first few months of learning how to play this thing. I can't even fathom right now needing a third manual. I've never even sat at a three-manual before.

I do understand that some music is specifically written for three-manual organs ... although there seem to be much fewer three-manual organs in the world compared to two's, which are common. So I assume most organists that don't have access to three manuals are using a quick punch on a preset button to get the same effect? If that's true and if it's that easy, is it worth the great cost and hassle to go from two to three?

Those of you who are further along in your studies than I am and long for a three-manual instrument ... or those of you who HAVE one ... is it really that big a deal? Does it change your whole playing and musical expression and satisfaction and all that?

If someone asked me if they should step up from spinet pedals to AGO's ... I know enough to say that you can't progress on the organ until you have 'em. It's not optional. Sell your kids if that's what it takes to get the AGO's. I don't know the extent to which that's true about moving from two manuals to three, as I don't have any experience with them and I'm not playing on that level yet.