This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Conn Serenade 634 Type 3 Repairs

I'm looking for some advice on repairing my Conn Serenade 634 Type 3 organ, which I just acquired from its original owner. There are two problems that I would like to fix.

I am a harpsichord technician, so tuning was no issue, but I know nothing of 70s circuitry. All of the Tibia stops in the manuals are working fine, but none of the diapason, reed, or string stops sound. However, the reed and diapson in the pedal are working fine. I realize that there could be a variety of issues here, but how might a layman go about isolating the problem?

The only other pressing issue is with the low B in the pedal. When played, the low B repeats the tone of any lower note played previously. e.g. after playing the lowest D in the pedal, depressing the low B will sound at D pitch. However, playing the D above low B in the pedal has no effect on the B pedal's pitch.

I will probably end up getting a pro in here to look at the thing either way, but I'd love to do some work on it myself if possible. Thoughts?

Thanks.

If the Reeds are dead on both manuals, open the lid of the organ and look for a board labeled "Post Amps." It will have two volume controls, one for flutes and one for complex. The complex channel is for all the reeds, strings, etc on the keyboards. Try moving that control to see if it has a dead spot. You will need a small screwdriver to do this. If that doesn't help we can troubleshoot it further if you wish.

The bass has two separate generators, one for the first octave and one for the second. If all the notes are in tune then I suspect the contact that tunes the B pedal is not making but the keying contact is. Look at pedal contacts on the B pedal.
    They're accessible from the back of the organ behind a masonite panel usually.

td
    Servicing electronic organs since 1969.

Comment