This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanted: Older Allen Organ

I am a classical organ student with a tight budget. I currently have a Conn Rhapsody 628. The 25 note pedalboard and the theatre style registration really does not suit my needs as a classical/liturgical organist. Anyway, that is why I am looking for an older Allen digital organ with AGO specs and classical registration. Like I said, I am on a very tight budget and can only spend at the most $1500. If anyone could give me some feedback it would be much appreciated.

cd70,

Welcome to the Forum. Where are you located (approximately)? That will help us find resources for you. Keep in mind, as much as half the cost of the organ can be moving costs.

Michael
    Way too many organs to list, but I do have 5 Allens:
    • MOS-2 Model 505-B / ADC-4300-DK / ADC-5400 / ADC-6000 (Symphony) / ADC-8000DKC
    • Lowrey Heritage (DSO-1)
    • 11 Pump Organs, 1 Pipe Organ & 7 Pianos

Comment

I am located in Charlotte, NC

Comment

It's great to hear of a serious young classical organ student! I sure hope you can find a suitable organ for practice. Keep your eyes and ears open, check all the usual ads, but also check around with local churches. Sadly, a lot of churches are discarding good organs because no one plays them, or church leaders have decided they don't want organ music in their services.

You may have to be patient for a while, but eventually a good practice organ will come along. I am in the organ service business, so I get more such calls than most people would, but I get offers quite frequently to pick up decent church organs for little or nothing. Unfortunately, I am in Arkansas, so getting an organ to you from here would cost quite a bit of money unless you come and get it yourself.