This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some technical advise

Hi guys!I am new here.I own a Viscount Jubileum 232 organ (about 10 years old).Recently one of my key on the pedalboard is not sounding intermittently.Anyone knows if this organ model uses reed switch? I am not technically trained, and don't feel comfortable removing the board. I am still searching for a local repair man and in the meantime would appreciate if anyone of you guys can confirm if this organ uses reed switches for the pedals.Thanking you all

I can only guess based on having seen similar Viscount pedals. Probably spring switches on an open buss bar.
    John
    ----------
    *** Please post your questions about technical service or repair matters ON THE FORUM. Do not send your questions to me or another member by private message. Information shared is for the benefit of the entire organ community, but other folks will not be helped by information we exchange in private messages!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Birds...97551893588434

Comment

Thank you for your reply.
      So are these switches easily available? I am getting a repair guy to look into it but he he not a Viscount repairman. I am very worried the pedal cannot be repaired.

Comment

No worries. If it is a spring wire on an open buss bar, it probably just needs a little cleaning or polishing of the surfaces at that juncture. These open contacts tend to get dirty or slightly corroded. If your tech guy is familiar with other key contact systems, he will have seen something very similar to this. Just be very careful not to stretch or deform the spring. Clean the spring and the spot it touches on the buss bar with a Q-tip moistened in alcohol or WD-40 or some other suitable cleaning chemical.