This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MADC 2160 Speaker Distortion

In previous threads I sought answers for an Allen 2160 that was given to my church. Happy to say it is now installed and is working well... just a few minor tweaks to volumes and console mechanics. (A shout out to Ken Mervine, the Allen installer in Denver for a job well done). It's debut was Christmas Eve. After the services that night 2 different men, engineers by trade, came up to me and told me they were hearing..."Intermodulation Distortion – and that’s likely to be caused by an impedance mismatch between the output of the amplifier and the load presented by the speakers. The result is reflected energy back into the output transformers and subsequently into the amplifier electronics." (a quote from one of them, who also happens to be in my choir). So... what is the remedy for this? More speakers? A limiter on the amp? A bigger amp and is that possible on a 2160? Thanks.

Intermodulation distortion can be caused by several things but it is probably caused by an impedance mismatch. If you are using one or two HC-12 or HC-14/15 speakers on each channel and the speakers are in parallel you are within the operating parameters of the amplifiers. If the gain is turned up too high on the amps it could cause intermodulation distortion.

Also, one or more of the gain settings on the tone generator boards could be set too high.

Cone break-up on speakers can also cause IM, and the solution for that is to turn the gain down.

Also, check the woofers and midrange drivers for foam rot on the surround. It's unlikely to cause IM distortion on the woofers, but could, and can easily cause IM distortion on the midrange. The tweeters could also be blown.

So the first steps are to reduce gain and check physical condition of the speaker drivers.

Comment

The electronic air sound can sound like distortion, too. Is it adjustable on this organ?

Comment