X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rodgers 330

Hi.</P>

I'm thinking of purchasing a 28 year old Rodgers 330 organ for $4,800. I'm a pianist but I apprenticed with an organist in a church a few months ago and, having since moved into a remote area, I want to continue to learn. I like this model because of the 3 manuals and drawstops. </P>

I'll be using it to play 5-part choral music from the Renaissance as well as making reductions of large scale works (LVB Missa Solemnis). The salesman didn't seem to have very much confidence in the analog sound, as opposed to digital. </P>

My questions are: is the analog sound passable, esp. given the type of music that I'll play? (from thick contrapuntal textures to orchestral.) And are there examples of the analog sound to be found on the internet? (this would be much appreciated.) Finally, what are your opinions of the Rodgers 330? </P>

Thanks alot.</P>

Re: Rodgers 330

Ian,</P>

Rodgers 330 is one of the better early Rodgers analogs, but it is old. Possibly older than you are being told. I think that model goes back to the early 1970's, but perhaps they continued to build it as late as 1979 (as dated by your statement). Not really sure. I play on a 660 at church, and itwas builtin the late 60's. The 330 was a little later, but not much.</P>

But the 330has a really complete stop list, truly in the American Classic style. It was the model that really brought everything together in those early days of Rodgers with a good set of resources, good captureaction, niceconsole design.Only the 550 and the 990 had more resources.</P>