This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Addition of Toe Studs

Hi Folks! I’m new to the Organ Forum, and also recently acquired a gently used Allen CF-2a. The organ is in perfect working condition and sounds great and looks brand new. It has 5 general pistons, with 2 memories.

Is it possible to add toe studs to trigger the general pistons? Is this something I could do myself? Being a retired professional church musician, I really miss having toe studs when practicing. I can make do with the pistons, but sometimes your hands are just tied up.

Thanks,
    Ken
    Home: Practice organ - Allen CF-2a
    Church: Depends on where I’m substituting ;-)

Yes, it should be possible. I bought some used toe studs from a local organ builder for $10 each. They can be wired directly to the contacts for the existing General Pistons so that either might complete the circuit to the Combination Action.

Comment

Originally posted by KCAiken View Post
      Is it possible to add toe studs to trigger the general pistons? Is this something I could do myself? Being a retired professional church musician, I really miss having toe studs when practicing. I can make do with the pistons, but sometimes your hands are just tied up.
      Ken,

I feel your pain! Therefore, I started a thread on the topic 5 years ago. You can view the information I provided here: www.organforum.com/forums/showthread.php?18623-Allen-ADC-4300DKC-Modification-Updates&p=326865&viewfull=1#post326865. I do hope that helps provide the information you need. Complete with pictures!:-B

Welcome to the Forum. I hope you continue participating here long after you have updated your organ.

Michael
      Last edited by myorgan; 08-03-2018, 12:42 PM. Reason: Fix Link
      Way too many organs to list, but I do have 5 Allens:
      • MOS-2 Model 505-B / ADC-4300-DK / ADC-5400 / ADC-6000 (Symphony) / ADC-8000DKC
      • Lowrey Heritage (DSO-1)
      • 11 Pump Organs, 1 Pipe Organ & 7 Pianos

Comment