This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rodgers 770 analog dead notes and cluster

Well, well - I returned from an extended vacation, plugged my Rodgers 770 back in, and started to practice only to discover:

Swell Eb2 on any/all stops plays a cluster of notes, like a handful!

Swell D2 down to low C dead on all stops

Any thoughts on what the problem is?

The pedal and great are fine.

Thanks

PS Swell to Great works as normal.

Comment

Definitely a "keyboard encoder" issue, whatever that may be on that model. Since the notes play correctly when the swell is played via the swell to great coupler, the problem is not actually in the swell keying, but only in the swell keyboard itself.

I am not an expert on Rodgers serial-keyed organs, but with a general understanding of how they work, I'll speculate... I think the keys may be tied together in groups of 8, with each group going into a "parallel to serial converter" chip. Second chip from the left on the swell encoder is bad, so playing the top key in its group (E-flat-2) results in sending a key down signal for all 8 at the same time, the "cluster" sound you are hearing. This chip is not sending data on down the line to the chip on its left, thus those eight keys are dead. The swell keyboard is probably the last set of inputs in that particular data chain, so the problem does not affect anything else.

If you are able, you can replace the encoder chip, which may be available for a dollar or two. A tech familiar with 80's Rodgers organs can probably confirm the diagnosis and do the work quite handily.

Another simpler possibility might be a shorted diode associated with the E-flat-2 keyswitch. I'm not sure diodes are used in this design though, thus my guess that it's the chip.
      John
      ----------