X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rodgers 990 Lacking In A Great Great

Greetings To The Organ World!

Admittedly when the Rodgers 990 lived at church I only played it occasionally, because I primarily play at the large church location with the pipe organ. Aside from small electronic organs in the home setting I have no regular experience with electronic instruments. Now I have the Rodgers here at home in the music room and I am baffled by the stop collections / distribution.

The pipe organs I am more familiar with playing all have a very nice sound selection of voices for their Great manual. It is usually equal to or better than that available on the Choir manual. Of course those Great voice pipes always sit out in the open with no volume regulation at all. That is specifically their purpose. So to regulate the volume you reduce or add stops for the Great manual.

So yes having a Great / Choir Shoe is a new experience as well. I just can not understand why Rodgers thought folks purchasing the top of the line flagship instrument would want half of the quantity of stops on the Great compared to double the amount of offerings on the Swell, and Choir?
    Until The Next Dimension,
    Admiral Coluch.

-1929 Wangerin Pipe Organ Historian
    -Owner 1982 Rogers Specification 990

Actually it is quite normal for the Swell to have more stops than the Great, since that is where you find the big Reed Chorus, plus Celestes, and often the components for the Cornet (2 2/3 & 1 3/5, etc.). Also, on many American Classic instruments, the Choir may be quite larger than the Great, to include the requirements for both an accompanimental style Choir and the Positiv.

These instruments follow the example of Aeolian-Skinner in specification. If I am right, that model of Rodgers did not include even an 8' Reed in the Great, which was also the style of A-S under Donald G. Harrison.
    Mike

My home organ is a Theatre III with an MDS II MIDI Expander.

Comment