X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When did Allen switch designs?

Hey all,</p>

</p>

Just another silly question for you organ tech type. When did Allen switch from this bad 1970's 'futurama' design console to the regular cute little one found in the other picture? </p>

Wait, how do we put in pictures?</p>

</p>

</p>

Re: When did Allen switch designs?

No, seriously, how do we post pictures on here in our postings??</p>

</p>

Comment

Buzzy,</P>

I was an Allen salesman back in the 80's and I think I know the design you speak of, even without a photo. You mean that ugly spaceship-looking console that Allen introduced in 1971 for the 100 and 200 series MOS-1 organs, right? There is a black stripe just below keybed level that makes it almost look like the top portion of the console is floating above the bottom part. When you open the top, you remove a screw on each side and tilt back the whole upper portion, including the sidearms.</P>

That style console was subsequently used for the low-end MOS-2 organs too. Then the really cheap MDC models (not to be confused with the later MDS organs, an entirely different series). I believe the last organs to use that console would have been the MDC 42 and 52, which were discontinued in 1982 as the all-new ADC/MADC organs were introduced.</P>

I don't think there were any ADC/MADC organs with that console. Someone may prove me wrong, though.</P>

John</P>
      <P mce_keep="true"></P>
      John
      ----------
      *** Please post your questions about technical service or repair matters ON THE FORUM. Do not send your questions to me or another member by private message. Information shared is for the benefit of the entire organ community, but other folks will not be helped by information we exchange in private messages!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Birds...97551893588434

Comment

That's what I thought until I saw this bad boy on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ALLEN-DIGITAL-CO...QQcmdZViewItem