X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1980s digital organs - memory sizes?

Hello,

I'm trying to understand the history; I'm new to organs, but very much not new to computers, I've been active since the late 80s.

And so I'm trying to understand how the early digital organs worked. Like the Allen ADC 220 which my wife (the actual organist - I'm the techie) recently played, and it sounded very nice.

It's just that I can't make this compute (pun intended) with what I know of memory sizes of the era. Somewhere in this Forum I found that the ADC 220 has 14 actual stops, so how would it have sufficient ROM to store all the samples?

The standard for high quality sound in those days was 44k 16bit, "CD quality" - except unlike CD, you probably don't need stereo samples, as you work out stereo by positioning pipes. And you need at least a second of every note, right? So, 61 notes in a stop, pretty close to a minute, giving us 5 megabytes in this quality. Total storage required: 70 megabytes. And that if you do attack and release in pure software.

That was the size of a 80s hard drive. How did an organ pack this much data in ROM? Or what tech did they use to reduce the ROM requirements?

RAM and CPU power appear fine for the 80s, at least since the release of the 68020.

Early Allen digital organs used wavetable synthesis rather than recorded samples. One half of the stop's waveform was stored in ROM in either 7 or 8 bit resolution depending upon the model's generation. The complete waveform was produced by clocking out the samples forward for the first half of the waveform and then in reverse order for the remainder. A single waveform was used for the entire compass of the stop. This form of synthesis allowed Allen to store entire voices on a single punch card.

Search for threads on Allen alterable voice cards for more detailed information.
    -Admin

Allen 965
    Zuma Group Midi Keyboard Encoder
    Zuma Group DM Midi Stop Controller
    Hauptwerk 4.2

Comment