Allen MDS-5 Reverb Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Allen MDS-5 Reverb Questions

Hello! My name is Stephen and I am new to the forum so I am still learning things. Please be patient and bear with me. I have a few questions regarding reverb of an organ I bought for home in early 2018. The MDS-5 organ that was purchased has a reverb tab, but apparently is not "hooked up" to anything. I was told these were optional features for when the organ was first purchased in the early to mid 90s I think. (This organ's reverb does not activate, so I guess the church it came out of had pretty decent acoustics). Haha!

Anyway, I inquired about my desire to enhance the organ with some reverb to a semi-local dealer, and he said that a current reverb system from the same company that built the organ could cost over $2,000 total. I know that a Nanoverb system for reverberation would work well and hopefully be MUCH cheaper; I think anyway. The ADC-2010C organ I had before this had a Nanoverb system. I should have had the movers let me keep the old reverb system of the ADC organ, but I didn't for some reason.

Question 1: How would one install a Nanoverb (Al*sis) reverberation system to an MDS-5 organ?
    Question 2: Should I have a technician do the job, or is it as simple as plugging in a cord?
    Question 3: There are other reverberation systems out there. Which ones would work best? I only have had experience with the one mentioned, but could others be easier to install?
    Question 4: Would using a "used" or "pre-owned" reverb system be a good option?

Thank you to anyone who can give some advice. This is by no means "important", really. Just something I've been curious about.

SDS93,

Welcome to the Forum. I hope you continue to participate for some time to come even after your question is answered.