Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Johannus Studio reliability?

Hi all,

Johannus is running a $7995 promotion for a Studio 170. My old Allen is dying, as I outlined in another thread. My tech tells me the Johannuses are junk and unreliable, that I should go with a Viscount instead. He has a connection to the Viscount dealer, but otherwise, I have no reason to believe he is stretching the truth. He's a generally trustworthy fellow. Of course the Johannus salesman says they never have to service these things. What do you all think? Should I take the risk on the Johannus?

Thanks!

I have limited technical experience with either brand, but if a tech you trust advises you, he probably has a reason. In some areas of the country, a particular brand (whether it's Allen, Rodgers, Johannus, Viscount, or whatever) may have a strong dealership and good tech, and then in other areas that same brand may be nearly unknown and unsupported. So taking advice from a trusted local tech is smart.

Both Johannus and Viscount have made good efforts to enhance their USA presence in recent years. Johannus of course joined forces with Rodgers, and now Rodgers dealers are also Johannus dealers, and thus have factory support for both brands. But that doesn't mean you can get local service just anywhere, as many smaller states (like mine) don't even have a dealership, so support is several hours away. Viscount has also enlarged their USA presence with a new sales organization and a new service rep. I have dealt with them recently, and believe they sincerely want to serve their customers well.

So talk to your tech and also ask around, try to locate churches or individuals who have bought these brands to see what kind of experience they have had after the sale.