This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Allen AP-3 voicing

I just purchased an Allen AP-3 with a sequencer and Midi expander IIIfor at home as a practice organ. I play an AP-4 at church which also has the sequencer and Midi III, and bought the AP-3 since it is nearly the same, except the "princess" pedalboard (it is different, but not as bad as I had imagined it could be, hated the Hammond C-3 we had prior to the AP-4). </P>

Anyone have any step-by-step guidelines to adjust the voicing. Since I am an electronics technician and deal with audio systems daily, I think that I can do this. I have an external speaker arrangement in my room which is built into a box in the wall and originally installed it when I owned a 1953 Baldwin, and then used it with my 1975 Conn. Now I have it attached to the Allen. Trying to adjust it by myself it tough. I have the Great flute to where I think it sounds great, and the Pedal Bourdon is very good, but still have too much treble on some of the rest. </P>

I know you should start with something, and then add other voices and adjust them to match. Is there a suggested sequence to do this? Like start with the Flute, Adjust the principals a little louder, etc.</P>

If anyone can suggest a method, I'd appreciate it. Maybe I just need to call my Allen dealer, and have them come and do it, but I don't like to pay to have something done if I can do it myself.</P>

Re: Allen AP-3 voicing

Russ,</P>

Since all the voices are lumped into just four groups, you can only do so much. You should have a chart that shows which stops are produced by each of the four tone generators. If you don't have the chart, you can of course turn the Gain of all four down fully, then bring up one at a time and see which stops come on. (I'm not sure about this model, but it's possible each mixture stop may be produced by two different generators, one for the octave-sounding and the other for the fifth-sounding ranks.)</P>