Ebay Classic organs

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How do I properly signal trace and check voltages?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I properly signal trace and check voltages?

Hey guys, I am very new to fixing organs but have had some decent success with a few repairs. I’m trying my best to learn but unfortunately I don’t have a mentor, so I resort to this forum. I am currently working on a farfisa combo compact that has a problem with the D# and A cards, even after replacing some caps and transistors. I was wondering how to properly use a signal tracer to see what went wrong in the path. I build a tracer out of a quarter inch cable and two alligator clips going from the shield and center wire. I’m also wondering how to properly and safely check voltages on different parts of the organ as well. Thanks for all the past and future help everybody!

Are the D#'s and A's missing in any or all octaves? Out of tune in any or all octaves?
    Farfisa Mini Compact V1, Fender Rhodes 73 Mk. 1, Hammond B2, Hammond L-102 "El Choppo", Hammond M-101, Hohner Cembalet CF, Hohner Cembalet N, Hohner Favor Combo, Hohner Pianet L, Hohner Pianet T, Hohner Symphonic 30N, Leslie 145, Leslie "430" (former 130 cab with horns and light show added), Nord Electro 3, and an entire village of guitars and harmonicas.

Comment

Maybe this will help.
      td

Audio Signal Tracing.pdf

Comment

Measuring voltages, Normal meter leads don't work very well for measuring voltages on crowded circuit boards. Make up a couple of meter leads with mini grabber hooks on the ends. On the real tight spots I will turn the organ off, clip the grabbers on the leads to be tested, then turn it on and make a reading. This is slow, but it avoids the fear of shorting two leads together while probing with a standard meter lead.