Forum Top Banner Ad

Collapse

Ebay Classic organs

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is the meaning between all the Hammond model names?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the meaning between all the Hammond model names?

I was just researching the different organs and came up with strange, seemingly random names such as A-100, XK-3 and 1, model A and BC. So can you elaborate on what all these mean what does. I know B-3 stands for bench with 3 types of percussion.</P>

Hammond model A mean? Model BC? Model E? Model C? Model D?</P>

C/B-2 </P>

RT-2/3?</P>

A-100/105?</P>

X-66/77?</P>

H-100/300?</P>

XB-3?</P>

XH-200?</P>

XK-1/3</P>

I'm sorry but I'm new to Hammonds and feel these names are a lot more random and technical than other brands such as Lowrey with simple model names such as the Heritage, Carnival, and Parade. Sure Hammond used a few names such as Aurora, Grandee, Colonnade, but if anyone can dichipher these technical meanings, i would greatly appreciate it.</P>

Re: What is the meaning between all the Hammond model names?

I'm sure you can find a great deal of info on the internet. The basics are: The A, B and C models were the original tone wheel models. Small differences were indicated by add on letters. The BC had an extra generator tuned sharp to give a less sine-wave effect. The C was nothing but a B with a full cabinet that hid the organists feet (used in churchs for the most part). The B-A was a B with a roll playing mechanism added. The D (and RT3) had a 32 note pedalboard and more voices for the pedal. Many "letters" followed these initial models as the home market was expanded. In later years these letters were used again for models that bore lttle relation to their ancestors. They were often followed by numbers that indicated little more than the cabinet type they were housed in.</P>