• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tuning Hammond L101

Hi everyone. </p>

I just bought an L101, and after a few days of playing, I
    turned it on today and heard a crackling sound. I turned it off and
    then back on, and suddenly the pitch was flat by nearly two whole steps. I have unplugged it and am looking around inside, and--even tho it's unplugged--the motor is still making a very faint but consistent clicking noise which sounds kind of electrical.
    </p>

I'm new to this, but I looked around a little bit and saw something on tonewheel general hospital (reply to the question from Jerry at https://www.tonewheelgeneral.com/ind...questions.html) that mentioned that if the amount of power supplied to the organ changes, then it will screw up the tuning... This has lead me to think that maybe the crackle indicated some kind of electrical problem that effects the power supplied to to organ, which threw
    off my tuning. </p>

Does this sound plausible ? If so, I suppose the
    question now is, what am I to do? Any advice? Has anyone delt with similar problems, and does anyone know how to tune a Hammond L101?</p>

Thanks so much for your help!
    Best,
    Kate </p>

Re: Tuning Hammond L101

All tonewheel Hammonds (including your L) operate on a synchronous motor, meaning one that will only turn at a certain frequency: whatever current is coming out of the wall; in the US it's 60hz. The motor is what spins all the tonewheels, which is how tones are generated, so as long as the motor stays at that speed--which it does under normal operating conditions--the tonewheels will spin at the same speed and the organ will never go out of tune. </P>

Your problem seems to indicate that the full 60z is not getting to the motor, which might be a problem with the motor capacitor. The above is really just background knowledge, and plenty of people here should be able to help you troubleshoot.</P>

Welcome to the forum!</P>
    1955 M3 (in good hands!)
    1962 A100