This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hammond Elegante problems

Hi, this is my first time on here although I have been searching through some of the previous posts to see if anyone else had similar problems, but not having much luck so far.</p>

I have been given an Elegante, model 340107 which had/still has quite a few issues, some of which I have been able to fix. A number of the features do not work although I'm not too concerned about them at this stage. </p>

The main problem is this: each time I power up, only the lower manual produces any sound while the upper just produces clicks. The drawbars on the lower all work and so do the preset keys. However, after about 1 minute, there is a low volume thump and the upper manual starts working as normal but the lower one 'switches off'. I also noticed that if I hold down any notes on the lower manual when powering up, the volume starts off fairly loud then quickly settles back to 'normal'. There is also some static or crackling during this period. When the upper manual is working, the only sound I can get on the lower is the brush and snare drum.
    </p>

I have checked and cleaned all the board and in-line connectors and increased the tension on each individual pin contact. This has eliminated some static that was previously present at all times but has done nothing to help this major problem. I also replaced all the thermal compound on each heat sink in case there was some overheating. </p>

I would really appreciate if anyone on the forum could suggest what could be possibly be causing this. If I can get it fixed to where I can at least get both keyboards working properly, I'll then concentrate on restoring some of the other non-functioning functions.</p>

Incidentally, I found a way of repairing a couple of the reversed color keys that were not locking down, so if anyone needs info on this, I would be happy to let them know how I did it (or should I start a new thread?).
    </p>