X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• C3 16' 1st octave low volume

G'day folks,

I was able to score a C3 for AU$1,000. Pics are here: http://www.organforum.com/forums/sho...-Leslie/page98

Everything is working just fine except the first octave of the 16' drawbar is softer than the subsequent octaves - on both manuals. Any ideas??

As usual I had to solder on a few drawbar wires before I even started checking the rest of the organ out. It beats me why Hammond for decades used such a primitive and unreliable method to connect the drawbars.

And is the foot well light pictured below standard on the C3?

Thanks,
    Skippy
    AS FAR AS ORGANS ARE CONCERNED - I'M A GOOD MECHANIC AND A HOPELESS DRIVER.
    Hammond C3 & M102 & Elegante & PR40. Yamaha D85 & D65 & FS30 & MC600 & GX76. Thomas Celebrity Royale 871, Kawai T5 & E550, Conn 643 & 632 & 552.Lowrey H25R2. Elka EP12. Orla D6180, Wurlitzer 4430 & Omni 7000 & 555. Roland D70 & RA90 . Ferrofish B4000+. Leslie 145 & 705 & 710 & 720

Typical.Both my C organs do the same

Comment

Originally posted by Hamman View Post
      Typical.Both my C organs do the same
      Thanks Hamman,

I had a look at the Carsten Meyer manual tapering chart. The first 10 keys are tapered at 100 Ohms then it jumps to 50 Ohms and it gets less and less up the keyboard. Perhaps it is the tapering I’m hearing. A bloody big jump in volume if you ask me. I wouldn’t call it typical – I’d call it crude.

Skippy
      Hammond C3 & M102 & Elegante & PR40. Yamaha D85 & D65 & FS30 & MC600 & GX76. Thomas Celebrity Royale 871, Kawai T5 & E550, Conn 643 & 632 & 552.Lowrey H25R2. Elka EP12. Orla D6180, Wurlitzer 4430 & Omni 7000 & 555. Roland D70 & RA90 . Ferrofish B4000+. Leslie 145 & 705 & 710 & 720

Comment

Originally posted by skippy View Post