X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• C3 Manual Chassis Cover gooey foam issue

Hi again,

My C3 is serial number 91748. Judging by the serial it was probably manufactured 1963/64. I wish I knew if the seal behind the Manual Chassis Cover is still felt or has the dreaded gooey foam strip installed. Is there a way to find out without dismantling the Manual Chassis?

Thanks,
    Skippy
    AS FAR AS ORGANS ARE CONCERNED - I'M A GOOD MECHANIC AND A HOPELESS DRIVER.
    Hammond C3 & M102 & Elegante & PR40. Yamaha D85 & D65 & FS30 & MC600 & GX76. Thomas Celebrity Royale 871, Kawai T5 & E550, Conn 643 & 632 & 552.Lowrey H25R2. Elka EP12. Orla D6180, Wurlitzer 4430 & Omni 7000 & 555. Roland D70 & RA90 . Ferrofish B4000+. Leslie 145 & 705 & 710 & 720

Yes, there is a way to find out whether you have foam just by inspection. Look in the back of the organ and locate the surface of the manual covers. Then look for either a series of brass rivets, or a series of holes. Hammond used rivets to affix the felt, so if you've got rivets, you've got felt. If holes only, then you're looking at the dreaded foam.

Note that it's entirely possible to have one of each, especially in your date range. My early '64 A101 has foam on top, felt on the bottom... just how they happened to grab them off the pile on the assembly line!

good luck-
    td
    Nobody loves me but my mother,
    And she could be jivin' too...

--BB King

Comment

Thanks td,
      Excellent info.
      Skippy
      Hammond C3 & M102 & Elegante & PR40. Yamaha D85 & D65 & FS30 & MC600 & GX76. Thomas Celebrity Royale 871, Kawai T5 & E550, Conn 643 & 632 & 552.Lowrey H25R2. Elka EP12. Orla D6180, Wurlitzer 4430 & Omni 7000 & 555. Roland D70 & RA90 . Ferrofish B4000+. Leslie 145 & 705 & 710 & 720

Comment

Also possible to have no holes or rivets at all; indicating foam.
        Interesting TD, never knew you could have one of each.

Comment

Thanks johnny b3

Comment

Originally posted by johnny b3 View Post