X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trouble with Hammond B3000 and Leslie 3300 vs 2103 and rotorspeed controls

Hi!
    Im fairly new in the hammond/leslie world. Before this week i was hooked up with an SK2 and a 3300 leslie.
    But since i wanted more of a funiture at home I got myself old solid state Hammond B3000 with a 2103 Leslie as a good deal earlier this week.

The Hammond seems to work good together with the Leslie that came with the deal, but when connected through the 11-pin cable to my 3300 Leslie cabinet, i dont seem to be able to control the rotorspeed from the organ anymore.

When looking and comparing the servicemanuals between the two leslies, the pinout specifications seems very similiar except for the voltage on the last pin.
    Any hammond/leslie-gurus on this forum who can explain why it works on one of the leslie-models but not the other? :)

Pinout 3300
    1. Rotary sign
    2. Stationary L
    3. Stationary R
    4. Audio GND
    5. Control GND
    6. Power ON
    7. Leslie Fast
    8. Leslie Slow
    11. +15V out

Pinout 2103
    1. Rotary sign
    2. Stationary L
    3. Stationary R
    4. Audio GND
    5. Control GND
    6. Power ON
    7. Leslie Fast
    8. Leslie Slow
    11. +12V out

The #1 problem with the B-3000 (and I _really_ mean the #1 problem) is bad connections between internal circuit boards; due to bad edge connectors on said boards.

The only plausible reason I can think of for your problem is: Maybe the control circuit in the 3300 requires more current than the 2103 - and some edge connector is just barely making contact. Enough for the demands of the 2103, but not enough for the 3300.

I'd open up the organ and re-seat any connector that seems to have a relation to the switches and/or the Leslie output. Then again, I'd be afraid to open that can of worms...

Ps. I think I know who you are ;)

/Magnus
    Current organs: AV, M-3, A-100
    Current Leslies: 22H, 122, 770

Comment