Ebay Classic organs

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hammond H111 Free - Is it a deal or not?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hammond H111 Free - Is it a deal or not?

I have been offered a Hammond H111 for free. I have owned three Hammonds over the years - one tone-wheel and the two others basic solid state electronics. I am an amateur and a novice when it comes to Hammonds. I play for personal enjoyment - not performing - and mostly hymns. I have checked out this 'free' Hammond H111 several times. Most, if not all the features seem to be working. It is a bit noisy, with a few more clicking sounds than I like. One black key on the upper keyboard is missing. Although it hasn't happened to me the few times I have played it, I was told that occasionally it makes a loud popping noise and then silence. Once it is restarted - it plays well - until it happens again.

I have read the many comments online about the H100 series being a disaster, with many advising to stay away from them. Others comment favorably on the H100s but always add that they are tempermental, require alot of maintenance and the parts are hard to get. But if this organ is FREE - is it worth the risk? I know where I can get an A100 for $3000 but I am definitely not ready to try to justify making such an investment.

Any thoughts?

Can't comment on the H, but with the problems you describe, I'm not surprised it is being offered for free.

You can get an A100 for far less than that if you are patient (assuming you are in the U.S.) I got mine for $500 in excellent condition.
    1962 Hammond A102

Comment

I wouldn't pass it up, except: Let's say another free one comes along in perfect condition and working order. Will you be able to get rid of this one without a major hassle? If the answer is no, then don't get it.

Comment

Originally posted by Yasmar View Post