X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• C3 Missing Tones

Hi,
    This is my first time posting on the Forum, I hope someone can help me. I have recently worked on a 1964 C3. Removed and cleaned all the keys, stripped and cleaned all the drawbar assemblies and preset bars, restored all the woodwork. I did not remove the manuals.

After reassembly I am missing the following tones:

Lower manual Key 20, 21, 22, 24 silent on drawbar 1
    24 silent on drawbar 2
    21, 22 silent on drawbar 3
    19,20, 23, 24, silent on drawbar 8
    20 silent on drawbar 9

Upper Manual key 36 silent on drawbar 8- drawbar 8 also gives a continuous tone with no key presses.

I could not be 100% sure if all tones were working before I stripped and rebuilt.

The pattern is not consistent with missing TG frequencies, I would suspect key contacts or resistance wires but would like an experience view before delving too deeply back into the manuals.

For info the top manual is foam and the bottom is felt. Original manuals, but must have been from the crossover period. Curiously the felt manual shows more problems.

If anyone could shed some light, that would be great, have seen similar posts but would appreciate a fresh view if possible. Thank You.

Just below there is a thread "C3 keyboard issues". Take a look at the videos and it may answer your question about the constant tone. This might be be easily fixed if this is indeed your problem, although it means removing all the keys again.
    Your observation on missing tones is accurate; contacts, buss bar, resistance wires are all suspect.
    It might be easier to just take the keyboard out to further investigate.

If there was an issue in either the TG or the wiring, there would be missing tones in many places, the following interactive chart will pinpoint the offending tone:
    http://www.dairiki.org/hammond/wiring/

Bob
    In theory, there is no difference between theory and reality.
    In reality, there is.