X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just bought a Leslie 147 and will need help to hook it to the organ

Hi guys,</p>

A Leslie 147 is on its way!</p>

<font face="Arial" size="2">I also bought a vintage (2 halfmoon switches as well) Hammond/Leslie install kit #26-1 and a Leslie cable (6 pin) from Tonewheel Hospital.
    </font></p>

I plan to connect it to my Hammond M111.</p>

The kit comes with a diagram but I'm not tech savvy (don't know how to solder) and don't want to make mistakes on this plus I read somewhere that instead of soldering I can use wire nuts or something like that.</p>

Please guys, I'll need some help on this.</p>

Thank you very much.
    </p>

Re: Just bought a Leslie 147 and will need help to hook it to the organ

You'll need to learn how to solder to do a real good job.</P>

You haven't got the right kit, really. The 26-1 will only handle the signal from the main speaker, and you'll lose the reverb (which goes through its own amp and speaker) when you switch over to the leslie. I believe you can mix the main and reverb signals before sending them to the leslie but I can't remember how off the top of my head.</P>

You have a 5-pin plug and wires coming from the kit. Advices on a standard hook-up is as follows. YOU must make doubly sure that it applies in your case. If you're not tech savvy and are in doubt, get a tech to do the job.</P>

Blue and Grey. Need to go to switched AC mains in the organ, so the leslie turns on and off with the power switch. These connections should be soldered, IMHO.</P>

Black. Ground - usually goes to ground terminal on a speaker.</P>

Then, interrupt thesignal wire from the amp (usually green colour). The red wire from the kit goes to the amp side of the cut and the green wire from the kit to the speaker side of the kit. These can be connected with wire nuts.</P>

That's it, assuming that the colours in your kit are 'standard'.</P>

Someone else may chip in with the information re the reverb mixing.</P>