Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hammond L-100 pedal issues and working with a Leslie 720

Hi all, this is my first post here.

I've been playing piano for 10 years, and have been listening to Dr. Lonnie Smith and Booker T. my whole life. I recently got a Hammond L-101 from Goodwill for $45, and a Leslie 720 for free.

First question:
    When I turn on the L-101 with the pedal drawbar pulled out, after I let the tubes warm up, a very loud bass humming/buzzing sound comes from the speakers. When I put the pedal drawbar back in, the noise stops. How can I take care of this problem? I've checked the connections around the drawbar and they're all good, so I'm not sure what the problem might be.

Next question:
    What kind of modifications do I have to make to the L-101 to be able to connect it to the Leslie 720? Do I need to get an 11 pin cable and a Leslie pre-amp? Also, where should I add the line out to my L-101? I've seen suggestions on this forum to add it to the speaker wires, and others that say to add it to the white RCA cable before the main speaker amp.
    What kind of pre-amp should I get for the Leslie 720, and what kind of outputs should I add to the L-101 to be able to connect to the Leslie pre-amp, and where is a good place to get control pedals and stuff for the Leslie?

Re the leslie. Two things.

1) I think you should buy or build a suitable connector kit. It will take its audio signal straight from the amp. Don't mess around with expensive pre-amps and pedals. Building a kit isn't rocket science and there are plenty of schematics and advice available!