This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamaha EL90 vs Atelier AT-800

I have a Yamaha EL90 which, to be honest, is more than adequate for my limited abilities. I have no innate musical talent and everything I achieve is the result of hard work, which I am not very good at. However I do get a lot of satisfaction from my playing such as it is.

I’ve had the EL90 from new and it is still in fine condition, having only had a new MDR, and I am still impressed with the quality of its voices. For some reason though I am attracted to the Roland Atelier AT-800 (I would have difficulty accommodating the larger pedalboard of the AT-900). My access to an Atelier has been limited so I would be interested to know how Forum members would compare the two. In particular, how would you rate the features of each and what about the quality and authenticity of the orchestral and instrumental voices? I have a large amount of software to expand the EL90 but I can’t find much for the AT-800. Am I right in thinking there is little available to help with setting up registrations of, for example, famous names on the Atelier?

At the end of the day I realise it’s my decision based on my own assessment but a chat about the merits and demerits of each would be of great value to me.
    Previous: Elka Crescendo 303, Technics G7, Yamaha EL-90
    Current: Yamaha AR-100

The 800 will win an orchestral voice face-off with ease - the EL90 has some good sounds but I can't think of many that would rival the AT800. The Roland also has proper organ sounds - classical pipe, electronic and theatre pipe, real drawbars, a better rhythm and automatics section. It has more sections that you can layer together - up to 5 per manual. The amplification system is way better. Longer keyboards, split lower manual are also features that are really useful.