122 crossover capacitor replacement

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 122 crossover capacitor replacement

My values were 3 times higher than original. I swapped the 7.8mf/12.5mf with a 10mf/15mf. It sounds delightful now!
    I may try 8mf/12mf just to hear if it makes much difference. I went with 10/15 -100v to simulate aging. Anyway...it sounds fine to me.
    BCV, C2, M3, C3
    HR40, 142, 760, 771
    Once upon a time I was a musician, now I just collect Hammonds!

Originally posted by Jwolter View Post
    I went with 10/15 -100v to simulate aging.
    Just when I think that nothing can surprise me anymore.
    I'm David. 'Dave' is someone else's name.

Comment

Originally posted by David Anderson View Post
      Just when I think that nothing can surprise me anymore.
      Lol, David....ok I kinda made part up. I was just curious to hear what it sounded like.
      BCV, C2, M3, C3
      HR40, 142, 760, 771
      Once upon a time I was a musician, now I just collect Hammonds!

Comment

Originally posted by Jwolter View Post
        My values were 3 times higher than original. I swapped the 7.8mf/12.5mf with a 10mf/15mf. It sounds delightful now!
        I may try 8mf/12mf just to hear if it makes much difference. I went with 10/15 -100v to simulate aging. Anyway...it sounds fine to me.
        I kept it simple and took the suggestions of those before me:

https://trekii.com/products/leslie-s...capacitor.html

Comment

I looked at that one from Trek II. $40 and simple... So I opted to go with another combo in caps. 6.8uf and 1.uf for 7.8 in parallel and 10uf, 1.5uf & 1.uf in parallel... I will let you know how it works out...
          I rebuild Hammonds and Leslies. Please visit my website. tbstonewheels.com It's still in the works but is up and running. My personal setup is a Model A # 2203 with Trek II percussion, 122RV and 2 31h's. One is fitted with two speed motors and the other a Hamptone. Also sporting a working Vibratone 30A # 326.