Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F 40

Hi All,

Newbie here. Just pulled this out of a church, F 40 - did these sound good back in the day?

I'm not too good with electronics, mainly multi instrumental player (little bit of organ!), so I'm not going to go and get myself electrocuted. I'm wondering about re-purposing for a home sound system (need an amp right?).

What would y'all do with this?

Thanks!
    Blair
    Floyd, VAClick image for larger version

Name:	IMG-1117 (1).JPG
Views:	55
Size:	522.1 KB
ID:	781587
    Attached Files

These cabinets are rather rare these days. I've never seen one in person.

Note that the field-coil speakers are integral parts of the amp circuits, so each amp has to be used with a pair of 12" field-coil speakers plugged into it. If you try to use the amp without that specific pair of speakers plugged in, you'll find that they don't work at all. They were designed to be disabled with the speakers unplugged. And the amps require balanced inputs at a higher signal level than what is now standard line level.

Repurposing for a home sound system sounds a bit nutty to me, and if you are "not too good with electronics," then you are essentially telling us that you wouldn't have the skills to do it even if it was a good idea. These were not designed to be HiFi amps or speaker cabinets.

I have heard a similar cabinet, and in my opinion, it does have a cool sound as a stationary Hammond Organ speaker that could be paired with a Leslie for the combination of stationary/rotary sound that some people like.

The amps are at least 64 years old and probably need some service.

Each amp needs one speaker with a 250 Ohm coil and one speaker with a 5,000 Ohm coil. Due to the fineness of the wire on the 5,000 Ohm coils, it's not uncommon to find that the coil has opened up, so that's one of the first things I would check. The 250 Ohm coils are usually still good.
    I'm David. 'Dave' is someone else's name.

Comment