X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a MIDI Organ - From Scratch

Hey All!

A little background on me. I've been involved in music since I was 7 (am 29 now) and I studied Music Ed at the University of Arizona, with my main instrument as Pipe Organ (Studied under Dr. Roy Johnson, Dr. David Burton Brown, and finaly Dr. Pamela Decker). I changed degrees my senior year just before graduation after a disagreement with the University Dean (long story), changed universities and went into the computer bis. Just finished my Bachelors in IT. Moving on to my Masters.

So - since I have computer skills, and musical skills, and since I bought my first home, I've decided I'd like to build a MIDI Organ. I live in an old mining town in southern AZ and my house is 75 stairs off of the street - hauling up a real pipe organ or even an organ console is a daunting, if not impossible task. So I'd like to build one. In otherwords, I'd like to assemble some MIDI keybaords (Classic Organ Works 15-CMK-2M 2 manual 61 note stack), an AGO MIDI Pedal Board (also from Classic Organ Works), and hook these into a computer running Hauptwork with a nice sound system. Has anyone had any experience doing this? How are the Classic Organ Works products? What's feel of the keyboards they produce?

My plan is to either buy, or build a stand to house the keyboards and swell pedals, hook this whole conglomeration into a computer built especialy for this purpose, and enjoy the skills I worked so hard to attain and not let them rust away.

Thoughts? Ideas? Experiences? Concerns?

Thanks
    Ryan J. Price
    Bisbee AZ

Re: Building a MIDI Organ - From Scratch

Sounds like a very cool project! Keep us posted on how things turn out.

Comment

Ryan - I'm in Tucson and friends with Pamela's Husband the Allen dealer. I don't think you will be happy with the feel, etc of MIDI/digital keyboards. Do you not have any vehicular access to your home at all? Email me direct at "Story61@aol.com". Don