This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need help to set up sound module

Hi, I am new to this forum, this is actually my first post.
    My keyboard is a SX-PX6 Technics digital piano. I love it, but it doesn't have any organ sounds. The guy I recently bought my pedalboard from threw also in an old Roland D-110 sound module and assured me it works. So I thought I could use it to get me started, before I eventually end up getting a computer for my setup, with Hauptwerk or similar software (in some future time...).
    I am very new to MIDI, know barely the basics, but I could not make it work. I hooked up midi out from my piano to midi in on the module. Both are on chanel 1 and the green light on the module goes on when I press any key on the piano. So it is sending the signal, but there is no sound. Just the sound of the piano, which on the other hand does not seem to have a local off switch (?). I tried listening to the sound either by connecting headphones to the sound module or connecting its L(mono) audio out to the AUX connection in the piano. I have the manuals for everything, but that hasn't helped. The output level in the module is set at 100 (for the tone? part? timbre? all that is quite confusing to me), and I crank the volume knob all the way to the max and there is no sound. On the other hand, I can listen to the tunes in the module in ROM play, both through the headphones or through the speakers in my piano. Which seems to confirm that the module actually works (?)...
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Allen TC-3 with gyrophonic speaker cabinet.
    Classic 'AGO' MIDI Pedalboard from Classic Organ Works.
    Technics SX-PX6 Digital Piano.
    Roland D-110 Sound Module.

Hi Pachinko,

If I recall correctly, the Roland D-110 sets its eight channels starting from MIDI channel 2, not 1... so try changing to MIDI channel 2 and see if that makes a difference?