Chimes and MIDI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chimes and MIDI

Hello everyone! hope you all are doing well!

I have recently acquired a set of 21 Maas Rowe Chimes along with its action. I am looking to hook this up to some sort of MIDI control system that will allow me to connect this to my current Allen ADC 2160, use as a stand alone instrument with its own keyboard, or play MIDI files(although this isn't that important

Could I get some guidance as to how and where I should start? I have never done anything with MIDI before and am very inexperienced in this area.

Victor

I'm no MIDI expert, but I have seen "driver" units listed on the pages of various MIDI supplies, generally intended to drive pipe valves with MIDI, but which should work for chimes just the same. We service a Rodgers PDI organ here that has a set of real chimes added on via MIDI, using a driver board that was built by Walker.

You should be able to do it with some guidance from one of those suppliers. Or you could just wire the chimes to a set of contacts placed below the Allen keyboards (as Allen used to do when equipping an organ to be prepared for chimes). Or just use one of those mini keyboards they used to hang on to the front of an organ console or build into a small stand.
    John
    ----------
    Church: Allen MDS-45 with Allen MIDI-DIVISION-II expander
    Home: Allen Renaissance R-230 with expanded four-channel audio and MIDI-DIVISION-II
    Shop: Bunch of organs in varying conditions, some good, some not...
    Half of an incredible two-man organ service team -- servicing all the major digitals in Arkansas churches
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Birds...97551893588434

Comment