This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Conn Speaker Pipes

Is the cord to connect Conn Pipes a proprietary chord, or a standard RL screw down sound cord?

I'm at the home of the 651 and Conn Pipes, sadly the beautiful 651 is not in good condition at all and as a student, I can't afford or have the time to refurbish/restorei t. There are a LOT of issues though it does play for the most part! I'm thinking to buy the pipes only.
    The pipes currently are not plugged in, but there is a pile of chords for them on the floor. She doesn't know if know if there is a reason they are all unplugged, but I'm going to attempt to plug them in (hopefully it won't explode )

I don't want to have to take this mess of nasty cables, hoping I could buy new ones later.
    Last edited by WurliTzer; 05-29-2016, 04:23 PM.
    Conn 650 (Type 1) with gold bus bars. 4 sets of Conn Pipes. A stupid Kimball piano

Originally posted by ChristopherJKHa View Post
    Is the cord to connect Conn Pipes a proprietary chord, or a standard RL screw down sound cord?
    Christopher,

The connections should be standard, screw-down cords. The ends can be terminated either by wrapping the stranded wire around each post and tightening the screw, but probably a better solution would be to use spade connectors on the end of the cord. I'm not sure how they terminate inside the organ, but I would assume they would work in a similar manner.

If you wrap the ends around the post while tightening the screw, make sure no strands stick out and can cross-connect the two cords. IIRC, there is no sort of barrier between the screws on the pipe units, and you'd have to take care they don't short out.

In fact, I'm going to attempt to connect some of my speakers today to see how they work out (I've never tried that yet). I hope to be able to make back-to-back recordings with the Allen speakers vs. Conn Pipes and post them so people can analyze the difference.

Michael