This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kawai XR7000 Will not turn on

I bought this organ last Thursday in Bradenton Fl. and moved it to Gainesville Florida. It operated fine in the seller's garage where he had it stored and I used it Friday and Saturday at my house. Sunday morning it would not turn on. There are 4 small lights at the top of the keyboard under the music rake that will operate off a toggle switch under the keyboard shelf. The organ however will not turn on, none of the tabs light - nothing works. 3 or 4 seconds after I push the power button I hear faint clicking coming from the top of the organ. After a few seconds it Stops I'm not technical/electrical. I'm worried I won't be able to find an organ repairman and or parts. Any guidance would be appreciated.

It is possible that the main filter capacitors in the power supply have failed. You will need to find a competent technician to replace these. Suitable replacement capacitors are available and may only need minor modification to fit.

Organs like this that haven't been used for a long time may work for a short time but then the 30 to 40 year old capacitors give up in the power supply. With luck faults won't have spread any further as you say it was all working well. Other faults in the keying and sound generation would not be as easy to fix or may not be fixable at all.

Regards
    Rick
    Rick Whatson
    Brisbane - Queensland - Australia
    http://tcptechnology.com.au/

Comment

Kawais are amongst the most reliable organs out there and the e-caps in them are usually very long-lived (I had two 1987/88 SR6s and the caps were 100% fine in both when examined and checked) but, as Rick said, not being used for some time is not good for any organ. It's also possible that the move has dislodged one of the connectors in the power supply. If it's like the SR series (and it should be) there are a lot of these!