Help! Our church's Rodgers 800 is making a 'beehive' sound

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! Our church's Rodgers 800 is making a 'beehive' sound

Help me Obi Wan Kenobi, you're our only hope.

Our church doesn't have the cash to pay for a repair to our early 1980s Rodgers 800 Scarborough organ. An organist turned the key on the power switch and got a brztt and puff of smoke. A repair man came out to take a look at it and moved it, and after diagnosing the bad switch, realized his moving it caused another problem once we turned it on.
    Now, we have a sound like all of the keys being pressed down simultaneously - or a swarm of bees. There is one fundamental tone, so that might be a clue.

In a past life I was an electrical engineer and worked on some sound amplifiers, so I've volunteered to try to fix it before we give it the heave-ho or have lots of bake sales to raise the cash just to get it transported so someone can diagnose what is wrong with it. I wagering that even trying to lift it would probably knock something else loose and cause a worse problem, so I've cracked it open and started poking around.

Here is a link to my dropbox site with a video of me recording the organ sound. I'm hoping some brilliant old-timer will say -- oh yeah, that is capacitor C42...

My plan is to start with the output stage and a powered speaker and just work my way back through the schematic to find the source of the problem - probing at different locations until I can at least narrow down what might be the source. Someone on some forum said it might be trouble with an oscillator, but with 137... that's a pretty broad suggestion.

Any and all help is welcome and dearly appreciated.
    Thanks.
    Ed
    Dropbox is a free service that lets you bring your photos, docs, and videos anywhere and share them easily. Never email yourself a file again!

Follow up: I saw this post: