This is a sticky topic.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Allen USAP audio processor cards – theme and variations

Every Allen ADC organ has at least one USAP audio processor card. It takes the outputs from the tone generators and prepares them for output to the amplifiers via the RCA jacks on top of the cage. At the encouragement of JBird (verbal) and Michaelhoddy (“Love this esoteric stuff.”) I’ll start the discussion with what I know. I cannot comment on MDC or MDS models since I have no information or experience with them. Yes, it’s a long post but that is because it is a comprehensive as I can make it.

Functionally, the AP card takes the analog audio signals from the tone generator boards (which have individual digital to analog converters - DACs - for each section) - via wire-wrap wires on the back of the cage backplane and mixes them down to a smaller number of output channels.

What I find interesting from studying the backplane wiring in my 5300 is that more than one tone generator output is wired to a single input pin on an AP card. But there are more input pins on the card than output channels so some tone generator output mixing also occurs in the card. The AP card also has DACs that process the swell pedal positions (sent from the console multiplexer) to modulate the output volume going to the amplifiers. This card may perform additional tasks that I am not aware of so additional information is welcome if I've left something out.

Variations on a theme.