Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CONN pedal board ‘out of tune’

Hi
    Newbie here. Hoping for some guidance on a DIY repair. We have a two manual CONN with a 15 pedal footboard. It’s out of tune. The guy repaired it and a week later it was out again. the repair guy said it is the electronics and he couldn’t fix it. is there some way to save this beast?
    thanks,
    Annette

Annette,

Welcome to the Forum. I don't know the exact answer to your question, but can tell you what will help.

Could you please look (probably under the keyboards) for the Model number of the organ? If you put your head under the keyboards where the legs go, you should find a builder's plate there with the model number. If it's not there, then look on the back of the organ where the electrical cord goes into the organ. Unfortunately, on Conn organs, the plates are bronze on brown, so sometimes they are difficult to read.

Providing that information will help techs know exactly which advice to give you, and be able to provide details. Oh, and if you can provide an audio recording, that might help to know the nature of the out-of-tuneness.

Hope that helps.

Michael
    Way too many organs to list, but I do have 5 Allens:
    • MOS-2 Model 505-B / ADC-4300-DK / ADC-5400 / ADC-6000 (Symphony) / ADC-8000DKC
    • Lowrey Heritage (DSO-1)
    • 11 Pump Organs, 1 Pipe Organ & 7 Pianos

Comment

If you don't see a plate under the keyboards, look in the back of the organ The plate on mine is in the middle, up top just below the lid, and can be seen through the organ's back.

Question - 15 pedals?? Spinets have 13, home consoles have 25, AGO consoles have 32. Include the sharps in the count.
      Next question - What's out of tune? How many and how far out? Details are important for our answers to be useful and accurate.

Finally, welcome to the forum. There's a number of active Conn owners who can help once we get a better idea of your problem.
      Ed Kennedy