New Member Virtual Organ Interest

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Member Virtual Organ Interest

I'm sorry for being off-topic, but I'm a newbie at this site, and really just a pianist. However, being a Bach enthusiast particularly, and having reached an age where growing neurons is an important health item, I've formed the wish to develop some organ technique and explore the literature, even beyond JSB. . My question is how to realize this ambition at home. I'm posting here because my quest would seem to intersect with the activities of those of you who are working on virtual organsAre there any small instruments with pedal boards that would have a pleasant baroque-relevant set of sounds, that would serve the purpose. I have enough space for something of the dimensions of a second piano. I actually would prefer to be able to feed the sound into headphones, rather than regaling my entire family with music. Eventually, of course, I'll want to practice and play real organs I might gain admission to at some local church. Where should I begin looking? Is there a more relevant thread or group here at organforum.com? I saw an ad today for a "Classical Baldwin" from 1956, which is in my price range, but quite possibly needs repairs. Any advice will be welcome; many thanks!

Jkhunter,

Welcome to the Forum! Let me see if I can sum up your interest.

You are interested in:
    1. Learning Classical music (Bach was mentioned),
    2. Developing organ technique.
    3. A small instrument (preferably small) which can be virtual OR a traditional organ, but with headphone jack.
    Regarding the "Classical Baldwin" from 1956, I would hold out for a newer instrument, which will not need as much attention. Unless I miss my guess, you'd rather be learning to play rather than constantly repairing.