This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• organ shoes

Can someone one tell me if resin soles are good for organ playing??

First of all, let me clarify that I'm NOT a professional organist by any means so this is just my opinion and also what I have picked up from observation.... I play some theater organ and liturgical organ and have a home theater organ as well.

By "resin", I'm assuming that you mean a rubber type material? I don't think this type material would lend itself to good pedal techniques as the soles would tend to "grab" or not slide from pedal to pedal as would a softer, leather sole.

I use organist's shoes. These are relatively inexpensive shoes (I got mine from Organ Master Shoes ) which have a narrower width, softer leather sole and raised heel. Once you've played in regular organist's shoes, you'll never go back to regular shoes!

Just my .02 cents worth

Comment

I've had my Organ Master's for years. I just get them fixed when something happens. Only thing so far is the glue on the soles.
      Finally self-published some of my compositions! https://www.createspace.com/3734555
      Piano and organ videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/CurtisBooksMusic

Comment

I bought organmaster shoes a few years ago and love them - light on the feet and really easy to slide across the pedal board. Remember to never wear them for general use - you'll wreck the soft leather soles.
        Craig Keller
        Gerringong, Australia
        Owner of a Technics FA-1

Secretary, Theatre Organ Society of Australia (NSW Division)
        www.tosa.net.au

President, Australia-Felix Chapter, American Theatre Organ Society

Comment

I wish they had them in loafers or side-gusset though. I hate tying shoes.
          Finally self-published some of my compositions! https://www.createspace.com/3734555
          Piano and organ videos: http://www.youtube.com/user/CurtisBooksMusic

Comment

Originally posted by Tutti View Post